“A tale of a talented wizard unintentionally created a shadow out of envy and pride. He at first was afraid and tried to flee from the shadow, and gradually turned the tide to confront and hunt it. In the end, he realized the shadow as part of himself, accepted it and became whole.”

The past summer, I was fortunate enough to spend time in a small marine town on the side of Atlantic. Beach, ocean, sailboat, cabin, and family. Pretty quality time. During the stay I read, among others, Le Guin’s entire Earthsea cycle.  I wrote down some quick summaries on what I thought was the “essence” for each book in the cycle, like the one above, and planned to elaborate them later when I got back to NY.

Then were the endless campaigns, ugly rhetoric, and eventually the November 8th. Like many other people and friends, I went through a process. Maybe truth to be told I am still in the process, and will be in it for years. But like a distant friend whom I only talk with on Facebook said, “Just clinging to my books and my religion.” But I am an agnostic. Well, just books then.

So, the Earthsea world, Ged, true names, shadow, journey, good, evil, power, the dry world, confrontation, embrace, happiness …  What do all these mean? What is the allegory? What are the metaphors? What does a book like this, as simple and direct as a children’s book mean to say?

Then I found myself actually summarized it pretty well.

“A tale of a talented wizard unintentionally created a shadow out of envy and pride. He at first was afraid and tried to flee from the shadow, and gradually turned the tide to confront and hunt it. In the end, he realized the shadow as part of himself, accepted it and became whole.”

As simple as that.  Good art is about telling the simplest truth, always.

awizardofearthsea1sted

